WABO Emergency Management


WABO’s Emergency Management committee has been working since 2011 to help establish Washington State’s building safety responder program.  Through their efforts WAsafe (WAshington Safety Assessment of Facilities Evaluators) was formed.  WAsafe  is a coalition comprised of WABO, SEAW, AIA Washington, and ASCE - Seattle Section whose mission is to train, enroll, and aid in the dispatch of volunteer building safety evaluators to help local building officials in Washington respond to disasters. 

Through a historic cooperative effort between WA State Emergency Management Division (EMD) and WAsafe a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) has been established.  The MOU formally recognizes WAsafe as a resource the State can (and presumably, will) call upon to send volunteers to areas /jurisdictions affected by disasters. The MOU also establishes EMD’s central role in coordination of distribution of resources (volunteers) and WAsafe’s responsibility to maintain emergency response coordinators and continued training for agencies and WAsafe volunteers. 

 WAsafe - EMD Memorandum of Understanding


Interested in joining the network of professionals trained as WAsafe volunteers, ready to respond to communities in need across the state? 
Enroll today at waserv.org!

For details on how to enroll as a WAsafe volunteer and to see minimum qualifications, please view Waserv Registration Procedures Tab below.

WAserv Registration Procedures
WAsafe Deployment Procedures
WAsafe Operations Manual


Unsafe Placard - Red Inspected Placard - Green Restricted Use Placard - Yellow
Alternate Templates
            Detailed Safety Assessment                              Rapid Evaluation Safety Assessment Form



 Emergency Management Committee Presentation

 "Why Us"


2016 WASafe Presentation

"Safety Assessment Facility Evaluators"


Mutual Aid Toolkit
(click on title to open document)

WABO Members Enrolled in WAsafe

Patrick Beaulieu, City of Seattle
Dean Bentley, City of University Place
Leif Bjorback, City of Edmonds
Tim Blevins, City of Seattle
Stuart Carter, Mayes Testing/Terracon
Shane Cline, City of Bothell
Ray Cockerham, City of Puyallup
Sue Coffman, City of Tacoma
Todd Cunningham, Mason County
Jennifer Eliuk, City of Bellevue
Robert Frisinger, Island County
Kirk Gentile, City of Burien
Rafik Gindy, City of Lakewood
Dana Herron, City of Milton
C. Andy Higgins, City of Seattle
Darin Homchick, City of Bothell
Hoyt Jeter, City of Tacoma/Clarity Consulting
Michael Kolakowski, San Juan County
Jeff Krieg, City of Seattle
Justin Lauritzen, City of Bainbridge Island
Patrick Lawler, City of Woodinville
Michael McGivern, City of Kirkland
Kevin Meske, King County
Robert Meyers, City of Covington
Charles Miller, City of Bellevue
Michele Miller, City of Bellevue
Dermott Murphy, City of Spokane
Lewis "LG" Nelson, CPRS
Jeri Newbold, City of Vancouver
Michael Papahronis, Port of Seattle
Stephen Pennington, Department of Health
Brad Pihlstrom, City of Burien
Douglas Powell, City of SeaTac
Gary Schenk, Retired
David-Lucas Shadduck, City of Tacoma
Scott Shannon, City of Redmond
Jon Siu, Jon Siu Consulting LLC
Mark Sniffen, City of Mount Vernon
David Spencer, Chelan County
Angelie Stahlnecker, City of Fircrest
Quyen Thai, City of Tacoma
Peter Thompson, Stevens County
James Tumelson III, City of Edgewood
Thomas Ushing, 4LEAF, Inc
William VanDuine, City of Bothell

Proclamation of Building Safety Emergency Draft

Building Safety Emergency Termination Proclamation
Donated Resources
Eligibility of Building Inspections in Post Disaster Environment
Labor Costs for Emergency Work
Mutual Aid Agreements for Public Assistance
Public Assistance Insurance Considerations for Applicants
Washington Building Safety Mutual Aid
Power Point Presentation

House Bill 1406 Final
Letter to Elected Officials